reflecting in texting

Sabrina Zhai
4 min readMar 11, 2019

--

Problem

We engage in high stakes conversation through texting, but due to the instantaneity of the medium, we send before we reflect. How can we encourage behaviors otherwise with the usage of semi-public spaces?

Idea

I designed this environment to be a place where people can come and enter a reflective mode. The structure is designed around the idea of focus and taking a break from the outside world.

After doing some research on the processes of taking part in a high-stakes conversation, I worked my environment around the emotional highs that one would experience.

Physical vs. Digital

In researching how to participate in a high stakes conversation, most psychologists advise a break from the situation. For me, this meant the digital environment located on your phone. As such, I progressed with moving away from a digital platform and create a purely physical space for people to use.

In addition, I wanted my environment to be omnipresent. In this manner, the space works for the user and acts upon them externally, rather than a user acting on the environment. The users know it will be there for them if needed.

Process

I also proceeded with a curved structure rather than a flat one because it creates a certain focal point when looking at it. By doing so, I can enforce the feelings of “focus” without anything extra, such as picture or text. The curve and shape of the wall also allows for a nook for users to stay in, creating privacy without enclosing them in. This came from my research in looking into different ways to have private spaces in public areas.

This lead in that I wanted to use for the staircase allows it so that there is a transitional threshold between the space and the world outside of it.

This was designed so that the users would need to step away from looking at their phone in order to climb the stairs.

As I proceeded with this idea, I disliked the loud, conspicuous way that the stairs looked, drawing more attention to this area than needed. I wanted this space to still be sensitive to users, as high stakes conversations are generally ones with a lot of emotions and privacy, and opted for a different method of transitioning that could give me the same effect.

Moving on from my structure, I looked into different ways to create the feelings that I wanted my staircase structure to give me.

I prototyped a hill structure that could give me the same idea of a “uphill” feeling, where physical exertion of moving towards something will still be needed.

mini prototype; done with laser cutting

As I was creating the room at a bigger scale, I found these structures to be more interesting and more playful. The walls curve and gives nooks without closing the users off. This was also iterated from the nooks created by the staircases in my initial sketch.

Reflection

Looking into the end product of this project, I am further considering the possible ways I can integrate this into culture properly without blatantly saying what I intend the use to be for. This environment is meant to be omnipresent, but I want it to be so in a cultural format without the need of written text on a plaque or what not.

Furthermore, I designed this with the concept of texting in mind, but it’d be interesting to see how other forms of communication can be carried out.

This was also mainly intended for a singular person, though I did not make it so that multiple people cannot enter at once, but if I took it a step further, I would be interested in seeing how I can allow it so that the space is best used for both single and multi-person use.

--

--